Databases

Share this page

Sharing...

Databases

Search our digital databases for information on topics including business, computers, economics, education, environment, health, and science.

These resources are free for library members. Most can be used from home, work or anywhere with your library card and PIN.

Art

An online encyclopaedia of art from prehistory to the present day, with articles on various forms of art (painting, sculpture, ceramics and more) and biographical information of the artists.

Search Oxford Art Online database

Biography

Full-text articles on more than 400,000 people from many walks of life.

Search Gale Biography in Context database

English dictionary (Oxford)

The ultimate English dictionary. This database gives the meaning of words, its history, usages and examples of usage.

Search the Oxford English Dictionary

Global issues

International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.

Search Gale Global Issues in Context database

Health

More than 600 mainstream and alternative health magazines, journals and reference books online, covering medicine, nutrition, diseases, pregnancy, health remedies and more. Note: The material contained in this resource is intended for information purposes only.

Search the Gale Health and Wellness Resource Centre database

History

Covers history from ancient times to the present day and includes articles from history journals and reference books as well as maps and images.

Search the Gale World History in Context database

Homework

Many Answers provides links to websites that give information on popular homework questions and topics. For real time help with homework visit Any Questions.

Search Any Questions/Many Answers homework website

Literature

Contains biographies of many authors and reviews and critiques of their works, with a great selection from classical works to modern literature.

Search the Gale Literary Sources Database

Magazines and periodicals

The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines Australia and New Zealand magazines, newspapers, newswires, and reference books to create a large collection of regional full text content.

Search the Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre

Music

This full-text online version of the 29 volume Grove Music encyclopaedia covers everything from classical and opera to blues, jazz and some popular music, with good information on composers and musicians.

Search Oxford Music Online

Opposing viewpoints

Contains full-text articles discussing contentious issues such as genetic engineering, cloning, drugs and athletes; with topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to websites

Search the Gale Opposing Viewpoints Resource Centre

Reference

A selection of reference books containing biography, literature, and social sciences information.

Search the Gale virtual reference library database

Science

Information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

Search Gale Science in Context Database

Student resources

Similar to Discovery Collection but more advanced material. A great resource for high school students.

Search the Gale Student Resources section

Women’s issues

Reports from professional, official and popular journals on a wide range of women's issues.

Search for articles on women's issues