Staff Picks

Share this page

Sharing...

Staff Picks

Looking for something new to read? We asked and our Librarians have delivered some of their favourite books of 2019.

Here are some of the biggest, most welcome surprises from the year in childrens, teen and adult fiction and nonfiction.

Happy reading!


The Adventure Zone series by Clint McElroy

For fans of Dungeons and Dragons, or for fans of fans of Dungeons and Dragons who want to be in on the jokes…in a graphic novel that, like the smash-hit podcast it's based on, will tickle your funny bone, tug your heartstrings, and probably pants you if you give it half a chance.

See if The Adventure Zone series is available on our catalogue or place a hold

Bear's Tooth series by Yann

This thought-provoking series is set in Silesia in the 1930s. Three inseparable young friends, Max, Werner and Hanna, share a passion for aviation. But the distant echo of clattering jackboots and the sinister clanking of metal have already begun to ring out! The steel hurricane soon to ravage the whole of Europe will force our trio to make some terrible choices. Will their friendship survive?

See if the Bear's Tooth series is available on our catalogue or place a hold

The Boy Who Fell by Jo Spain

Kids can be so cruel. They'll call you names. Hurt your feelings. Push you to your death... In the garden of an abandoned house, Luke Connolly lies broken, dead. DCI Tom Reynolds is receiving the biggest promotion of his career when a colleague asks him to look at the Connolly case, believing it's not as cut and dried as local investigators have made out.

See if The Boy Who Fell is available on our catalogue or place a hold

The Underground Guide to Sewers by Stephen Halliday

This execrable exploration traces the evolution of waste management from the ingenious infra-structures of the ancient world to the seeping cesspits and festering open sewers of the medieval period. It investigates and celebrates the work of the civil engineers whose pioneering integrated sewer systems brought to a close the devastating cholera epidemics of the mid-19th century and continue to serve a vastly increased population today. And let's not forget those giant fatbergs clogging our underground arteries, or the storm-surge super-structures of tomorrow.

See if The Underground Guide to Sewers is available on our catalogue or place a hold

A Good Place to Hide by Peter Grose

In the upper reaches of the Loire lies the secluded village of Le Chambon-sur-Lignon. Their whole village was honoured not just by the French state, but with the extremely rare distinction of Righteous Among Nations by the people of Israel. How they earned this is one of the great modern stories of heroism and courage. The community pulled off the astonishing feat of saving the lives of 5000 men, women and children whose very existence was deemed to be unpalatable to the Nazi occupiers and their Vichy stooges. Of those saved approximately 3500 were of Jewish descent. They achieved this through a long-running battle of nerves keeping their heads down and pulling together.

See if A Good Place to Hide is available on our catalogue or place a hold

Silk Road Vegetarian by Dahli Abraham-Klein 641.5636 ABR

A very thorough and detailed book without being complicated. Lots of basic recipes and “how-tos’ that are used in the more complex recipes such as vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free recipes like Bengali Potato and Zucchini Curry, Afghan Moussaka Eggplant with Yoghurt Sauce and Bukharian Crock Pot Rice with Dried Fruit.

See if Silk Road Vegetarian is available on our catalogue or place a hold